Keep Lexington Beautiful Commission Minutes August 30, 2010

The KLB commission met at the Commerce Lexington Building 330 E. Main Street at 8:30 a.m.

Commission members present: Amy Sohner, Angela Dossett, Connie Miller, David Jarvis, Farley Schalk, Jane Wilson Eller, Margaret Long, Mark York, Patricia Knight, Peggy Henson, Scott Blakely, Fran Taylor.

Guests: Deborah Conway, Chris Craig, Billy Hill, Jennifer Myatt, Crystal Williams, Susan Bush.

Mark York called the meeting to order and indicated that he would serve as temporary chair until the commission voted on officers later in the meeting. Mark started off with a welcome to the commission members and a roll call. Susan Bush made a welcome statement and noted that the Department of Environmental Quality will be the administrative support for the Commission.

The floor was then turned over to Jane Polson of Keep Nebraska Beautiful for an overview of the Keep America Beautiful program.

Debra Conway, Kentucky Division of Waste Management, commented on her experience with programs in "Keep America Beautiful" as well as attending a KAB state directors meeting earlier this year.

Chris Craig, Kentucky Division of Waste Management, Education Coordinator talked on educating the public.

Billy Hill, Kentucky Division of Waste Management, spoke of the state grant programs offered to cities and counties in Kentucky for litter and illegal dump cleanups.

Mark York did an overview on the Certification Report.

The Commission broke for a News Conference with Mayor Newberry on the creation of the Keep Lexington Beautiful Commission. Jane Polson presented the certificate to Mayor Newberry.

The commission reconvened for continued board training.

Motion was made by Connie Miller to nominate Patricia Knight as chair of the Keep Lexington Beautiful Commission. The motion was seconded by Margaret Long. The vote was unanimous.

Motion was made by Fran Taylor to nominate Amy Sohner as vice chair of the Keep Lexington Beautiful Commission. The motion was seconded by David Jarvis. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Amy Sohner to nominate Farley Schalk as Secretary/Treasurer with a second by David Jarvis. The vote was unanimous.

The commission discussed scheduling the next meeting date. The commission decided to do a doodle calendar with concentration on Thursdays. Mark York will handle the calendar and notification.

Mark notified the commission members of the required training for board members and open meetings form.

Jane Polson thanked everyone for the commitment to serve on the commission.

There was no further business pending before the commission. Motion made by Jane Wilson Eller to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Farley Schalk. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.